Twitter – How to delete a tweet from Twitter’s website or mobile app? Check here
Twitter is one of the most popular social media platforms that allows its users to post and interact with messages known as “tweets”. Twitter can be accessed through its website interface or via a mobile application.
Users on Twitter can post, like, tweet and retweet, follow celebrities among several more features. However, Twitter does not allow users to edit tweets. In case you need to correct a typing error or have second thoughts about the tweet you wrote, you have to permanently delete it.
So, here are some easy steps you can follow to delete a tweet using Twitter’s desktop website or its mobile app.
Steps to delete a tweet using Twitter’s desktop website or via mobile app
Step 1: Locate the tweet you wish to delete on your profile page or your Twitter timeline. You can easily isolate the tweet by tapping on it.
Step 2: Click on the three vertical or horizontal dots ( on the website) given in the upper-right corner of the tweet. A drop-down menu will appear.
Step 3: From the options given in the menu, tap on ‘Delete’ or ‘Delete tweet’.
Step 4: As soon as you click on ‘Delete tweet’, a dialog box will appear asking you to confirm if you’re sure to delete the tweet. In case you change your mind, click ‘Cancel’ or ‘No’.
Step 5: Lastly, tap ‘Yes’ to confirm and your tweet will be deleted.
Point to note: If no errors occur during the deletion process (like losing your internet connection etc.), a small dialog box will appear at the bottom of your screen indicating that your tweet has been deleted.
Also, you can only delete tweets that are authored and created by your account. However, to remove or undo a tweet that you have retweeted, you need to click on the ‘Retweet symbol’.
READ MORE | Twitter will now warn you if you post offensive tweets
What happens to the tweets that are deleted?
Once you delete a tweet, it disappears from your profile or timeline, the timeline of any account that follows you, and the change is also reflected on Twitter search results on twitter.com, Twitter for Android and Twitter for iOS.
In addition to this, the tweet will not be visible in any of the searches. Also, any link that directs to your tweet will no longer show the original tweet. Instead, a message will appear on the page indicating that the tweet has been deleted. But any replies that have been made to your tweet by your account or any other user will still be visible.
However, merely deleting a tweet does not mean that the tweet is gone from the digital platform forever. If anyone took a screenshot of your tweet, they will still be able to post the screenshot with your tweet even after you’ve deleted the tweet.